Cottage Livin

♥♥♥In loving memory of Arthur Messerschmidt♥♥♥

I have been going to “The cottage” for almost my whole life. I first visited when I was just four years old. If my Mom and my Dad had never met, then I wouldn’t have all these amazing summer memories! The cottage has always been a place for me to build a relationship with my Dad’s Aunt, Uncle, and Cousin. They are the ones who have shared this magical place with me, and I am forever thankful.

cottage

As a 22 year old with so many big dreams for myself I only have a few things I look forward to in a year. My family is my everything! I live and I work to be able to vacation every summer with them! I look forward to the middle of the year for this escape, this break from reality. Sometimes if I am lucky we will even vacation for Christmas!

Summer vacation is all about losing track of what day it is, and even the time. Time is at a standstill and the days are looooooong. Now don’t get me wrong, this is a great thing! There is much more time to relax and plan fun activities. There is never a set schedule. I can do whatever whenever. In my opinion this is how life is meant to be lived! This is my piece of heaven here on earth.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now don’t get me wrong it is a long process to be able to live in the cottage every year. This process can take a few hours to a full day. Opening the cottage always tends to bring the family closer in ways we don’t really want to be. Hahaha. When the cottage is finally habitable we can all breath, sit back, and relax. Every morning is so surreal just the water and my endless imagination. Each day is packed with something new swimming or “floating”, boating, skiing, tubing, shopping, family time, and EATING!!!!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One of the best feelings of being at the cottage is that nothing else matters. I love the power of slamming the cottage door shut! You will only understand this feeling if you too have slammed a cottage door! Bam! Onto the next adventure of the day, not a care in the world.

The crazy part is I am on vacation, but my mind tends to wander and reassess my life constantly. In these moments of tranquil peace I question and plan what I am doing, and will do, when I get back home. I would love to just relax and not worry about life, but my mind doesn’t function like that. Even when I go for a swim, well a float, I am always thinking.

Summer is not summer without a family vacation at the cottage! I will always remember the many memories and years we have spent here. I can only hope we will have many more to come! Until Summer 2019.

 

Sweet Dreams,

Amanda XO

2 thoughts on “Cottage Livin

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started