From Trash to Treasure

Do you have a place where you can escape the world and even your own thoughts? If not you need to find your place. I know I have found mine along the shoreline of Lake Michigan at Grant Park, South Milwaukee.

Have you ever heard of the term beach glass or sea glass? It is what it sounds like. It is glass from things such as broken bottles that have been in the “sea” or any body of water for some period of time. The waves have worn the piece of glass smooth. As a child whenever I was visiting family in Milwaukee, WI we went beach glass hunting along the shores of Lake Michigan. You won’t just find beach glass you will also spot some pretty unique rocks too!

Family traditions never get old and for the past few days my family and I have been hunting, and we have been coming home each day with amazing finds. Now where do we find these treasures? We go to Grant Park more specifically the Seven Bridges. The park is huge and offers many activities for every type of person. You can go on trails, play golf, walk the shoreline, and play at the children’s playground.

IMG_20180714_141549

IMG_20180714_145343

IMG_20180714_142555

But as I was saying before, when I am on a mission to find these tiny treasures I truly escape the world. In my search for beach glass all I hear is the soft waves crashing against the rocky shore. My thoughts are even on hold. Now that is a hard thing for me to not constantly think and plan. When I am looking for glass my everything is focused on combing through the rocks to locate a tiny treasure. My family and I will spend hours walking down the shore in search for beach glass. It is all worth the sunburn and even neck pain. Yes I said sunburn. Can you believe this Florida girl got sunburn all the way up north in Wisconsin. Well I did but it was so worth it, and did not stop me from searching the next day. You never know what you will find in this paradise!

Sweet Dreams,

Amanda XO

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started